To drive in West Virginia, you’ll need to carry auto insurance with liability and uninsured motorist coverage. A minimum-coverage policy includes $25,000 for bodily injury liability insurance per person and $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 for property damage.
Does West Virginia require car insurance?
West Virginia law requires all registered vehicles to be insured and proof of insurance be carried in your vehicle at all times.
What auto insurance coverage is required in West Virginia?
West Virginia Auto Insurance Requirements
Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Which states do not require auto liability insurance?
There are only two states where car insurance is not mandatory for all drivers: Virginia and New Hampshire. In Virginia, an uninsured motor vehicle fee may be paid to the state, while in New Hampshire, vehicle owners have the option to post cash bonds.
Is West Virginia a no fault insurance state?
no-fault. Like most states in the U.S., West Virginia is a “fault state,” meaning it uses an at-fault system to assign responsibility to each party involved in an incident. … In no-fault states, your insurance company generally pays for your damages up to a specified limit, regardless of fault.
Is West Virginia a PIP state?
No, personal injury protection (PIP) is not required in West Virginia. PIP is not even available in West Virginia. Instead of PIP insurance, West Virginia insurance companies offer medical payments insurance (sometimes called MedPay), which helps with hospital bills resulting from a car accident.
How much is a ticket for no insurance in WV?
Penalties for driving uninsured in West Virginia
|Type of penalty||First offense||Second and subsequent offenses|
|Fine||$200 – $5,000|
|License suspension||30 days||90 days|
|Registration suspension||Suspended until proof of insurance submitted|
|Alternative penalty fee||(In case proof is submitted before suspension effective date) $200||N/A|
What are the minimum auto insurance requirements in Virginia?
It is illegal to drive a car in Virginia without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Does WV require underinsured motorist coverage?
Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Drivers in West Virginia are not required to carry underins ured motorist coverage, which provides coverage in the event that the responsible party does not have sufficient liability coverage to fully compensate all injured parties.
What is a deductible and coverage limit?
Insurance deductibles are the amount of money you pay out of pocket toward a covered claim. … When you meet your deductible, it means that you have paid the entire amount of your coverage’s deductible, and your insurance will help cover the remaining costs of your covered claim, up to your coverage limit.
Do you need car insurance in all states?
No, all states do not require car insurance, but all require financial responsibility to operate a vehicle on the roadway. … If you choose to buy insurance, as most drivers do, all 50 states have different minimum insurance requirements.
Is insurance mandatory in USA?
Health insurance coverage is no longer mandatory at the federal level, as of Jan. 1, 2019. Some states still require you to have health insurance coverage to avoid a tax penalty.
Is car insurance required in Virginia?
The Commonwealth of Virginia is one of the few U.S. states that does not require motorists to carry auto liability insurance. If you choose not to purchase car insurance, you must pay an extra fee each year, along with your vehicle registration.
What is the statute of limitations in West Virginia?
What Is the Statute of Limitations in WV? For most types of civil cases, the statute of limitations in West Virginia is two years. Most misdemeanor criminal charges must be filed within a year, while felonies have no statute of limitations.
Is West Virginia a no fault state for divorce?
West Virginia offers what is known as a “no fault” divorce, under which you don’t have to prove (or even allege) that your spouse engaged in any specific wrongdoing in order to get divorced.